Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominees

Written by: FFT Webmaster | December 2nd, 2010

The Nominees for the 2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature (Award given to the Producer)
“127 Hours”: Danny Boyle, Christian Colson, John Smithson
“Black Swan”: Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Arnold W. Messer, Brian Oliver
“Greenberg”: Jennifer Jason Leigh, Scott Rudin
“The Kids Are All Right”: Gary Gilbert, Philippe Hellmann, Jordan Horowitz, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray, Daniela Taplin Lundberg
“Winter’s Bone”: Alix Madigan-Yorkin, Anne Rosellini

Best Director
Darren Aronofsky, “Black Swan”
Danny Boyle, “127 Hours”
Lisa Cholodenko, “The Kids Are All Right”
Debra Granik, “Winter’s Bone”
John Cameron Mitchell, “Rabbit Hole”

Best First Feature (Award given to the director and producer)
“Everything Strange and New,” directed by Frazer Bradshaw; Producers: A.D. Liano, Laura Techera Francia
“Get Low,” directed by Aaron Schneider; Producers: David Gundlach, Dean Zanuck
“The Last Exorcism,” directed by Daniel Stamm; Producers: Marc Abraham, Tom Bliss, Eric Newman, Eli Roth
“Night Catches Us,” directed by Tanya Hamilton; Producers: Sean Costello, Jason Orans, Ronald Simons
“Tiny Furniture,”
directed by Lena Dunham; Producers: Kyle Martin, Alicia Van Couvering

John Cassavetes Award
(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000; award given to the writer, director, and producer)
“Daddy Longlegs,” written and directed by Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie; Producers:  Casey Neistat, Tom Scott
“The Exploding Girl,” written and directed by Bardley Rust Gray; Producers:  Karen Chien, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim
“Lbs.,” directed by Matthew Bonifacio, written by Matthew Bonifacio and Carmine Famiglietti; Producers:  Matthew Bonifacio, Carmine Famiglietti
“Lovers of Hate,” written and directed by Bryan Poyser; Producer:  Megan Gilbride
“Obsedila,” written and directed by Diane Bell; Producers:  Chris Byrne, Mathew Medlin

Best Screenplay
Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko, “The Kids Are All Right”
Debra Granik, Anne Rosellini, “Winter’s Bone”
Nicole Holofcener, “Please Give”
David Lindsay-Abaire, “Rabbit Hole”
Todd Solondz, “Life During Wartime”

Best First Screenplay
Diane Bell, “Obselidia”
Lena Dunham, “Tiny Furniture”
Nik Fackler, “Lovely, Still”
Bob Glaudini, “Jack Goes Boating”
Dana Adam Shapiro, Evan M. Wiener, “Monogamy”

Best Female Lead
Annette Bening, “The Kids Are All Right”
Greta Gerwig, “Greenberg”
Nicole Kidman, “Rabbit Hole”
Jennifer Lawrence, “Winter’s Bone”
Natalie Portman, “Black Swan”
Michelle Williams, “Blue Valentine”

Best Male Lead
Ronald Bronstein, “Daddy Longlegs”
Aaron Eckhart, “Rabbit Hole”
James Franco, “127 Hours”
John C. Reilly, “Cyrus”
Ben Stiller, “Greenberg”

Best Supporting Female
Ashley Bell, “The Last Exorcism”
Dale Dickey, “Winter’s Bone”
Allison Janney, “Life During Wartime”
Daphne Rubin-Vega, “Jack Goes Boating”
Naomi Watts, “Mother and Child”

Best Supporting Male
John Hawkes, “Winter’s Bone”
Samuel L. Jackson, “Mother and Child”
Bill Murray, “Get Low”
John Ortiz, “Jack Goes Boating”
Mark Ruffalo, “The Kids Are All Right”

Best Cinematography
Adam Kimmel, “Never Let Me Go”
Matthew Libatique, “Black Swan”
Jody Lee Lipes, “Tiny Furniture”
Michael McDonough, “Winter’s Bone”
Harris Savides, “Greenberg”

Best Documentary (Award given to the director)
“Exit Through The Gift Shop,” Banksy
“Marwencol,” Jeff Malmberg
“Restrepo,” Sebastien Junger, Tim Hetherington
“Sweetgrass,” Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
“Thunder Soul,” Mark Landsman

Best Foreign Film (Award given to the director)
“Kisses,” Lance Daly
“Mademoiselle Chambon,” Stéphane Brizé
“Of Gods and Men,” Xavier Beauvois
“The King’s Speech,” Tom Hooper
“Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives,” Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Robert Altman Award
(Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
“Please Give”
Director: Nicole Holofcener
Casting Director: Jeanne McCarthy
Ensemble Cast: Ann Guilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Lois Smith, Sara Steele

Piaget Producers Award
In-Ah Lee, “Au Revoir Taipei”
Adele Romanski, “The Myth of the American Sleepover”
Anish Savjani, “Meek’s Cutoff”

Someone to Watch Award
Hossein Keshavarz, “Dog Sweat”
Laurel Nakadate, “The Wolf Knife”
Mike Ott, “Littlerock”

Truer Than Fiction Award
“Sweetgrass,” Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
“Marwencol,” Jeff Malmberg
“Summer Pasture,” Lynn True, Nelson Walker

Other posts by
Posted in: Breaking

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *