Hello World Communications
Hello World Communications - Tools & Services for the Imagination - HWC.TV

Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

The 2009 New York Film Critics’ Circle Award Winners

Written by: FFT Webmaster | December 14th, 2009

The 2009 New York Film Critics’ Circle Award Winners:

Best Film:
“The Hurt Locker”


Best Director:
Kathryn Bigelow for “The Hurt Locker”

Best Screenplay:
“In the Loop”

Best Actress:
Meryl Streep for “Julie & Julia”

Best Actor:
George Clooney for “Up In The Air” and “Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Best Supporting Actress:
Mo’Nique for “Precious”

Best Supporting Actor:
Christoph Waltz for “Inglourious Basterds”

Best Cinematography:
Christian Berger for “The White Ribbon”

Best Animated Film:
“Fantastic Mr. Fox”

Best Non-fiction Film:
“Of Time and the City”

Best Foreign Language Film:
“Summer Hours”

Best First Feature:
“Hunger,”  director Steve McQueen

Special Award:
To Andrew Sarris for his contribution to film criticism


The FFT Webmaster use displays whenever an article has multiple authors. It also pops up on articles from old versions of Film Festival Today. The original author byline might be missing! In that case, if you are the author of such an article and see this bio instead of your own, please send us an email. Some of our contributors that might be missing bylines are: Brad Balfour, Laura Blum, and Sandy Mandelberger, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *