Hello World Communications
Hello World Communications - Tools & Services for the Imagination - HWC.TV

Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

Winners of The Toronto International Film Festival 09

Written by: FFT Webmaster | September 21st, 2009

Toronto International Film Festival 

“Precious” formerly titled “Push-Based on a Novel by Sapphire” has the unprecedented distinction as having won the audience award at TIFF09  and Sundance09. Director/writer  Lee Daniels as been annointed the new “King of the Indie Film World”.

Image from PRECIOUS

The Winners at the 2009 Toronto International Film Festival:

Cadillac People’s Choice Award:
“Precious” Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” directed by Lee Daniels
First Runner up: “Mao’s Last Dancer” directed by Bruce Beresford
Second Runner up: “Micmacs” directed by Jean-Pierre Jeunet

Cadillac People’s Choice Award For Documentary:
“Topp Twins” directed by Leanne Pooley
Runner up: “Capitalism: A Love Story” directed by Michael Moore

Cadillac People’s Choice Award For Midnight Madness:
“The Loved Ones” directed by Sean Byrne
Runner up: “Day Breakers” directed by Peter and Michael Spierig

City of Toronto and Astral Media’s The Movie Network Award Award For Best Canadian Feature Film:
“Cairo Time” directed by Ruba Nadda

SKYY Vodka Award For Best Canadian First Feature Film:
“The Wild Hunt” directed by Alexandre Franchi

Prizes of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) for Special Presentations Section:
“Hadewijch” directed by Bruno Dumont

Prizes of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) for Discovery Section:
“The Man Beyond the Bridge” directed by Laxmikant Shetgoankar

Award For Best Canadian Short Film:
“Danse Macabre” directed by Pedro Pires
Honorable mention: “Armoire” directed by Jamie Travis


The FFT Webmaster use displays whenever an article has multiple authors. It also pops up on articles from old versions of Film Festival Today. The original author byline might be missing! In that case, if you are the author of such an article and see this bio instead of your own, please send us an email. Some of our contributors that might be missing bylines are: Brad Balfour, Laura Blum, and Sandy Mandelberger, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *