Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

2016 Spirit Awards

Written by: FFT Webmaster | February 28th, 2016

Film Independent's Spirit Awards
Film Independent’s Spirit Awards

“Spotlight” took home top honors at the 2016 Spirit Awards, winning best feature, best director, best screenplay, best editing and best ensemble. Below find a complete list of the afternoon’s winners:

Best Feature

  • Anomalisa
  • Beasts of No Nation
  • Carol
  • Spotlight — WINNER
  • Tangerine

Best Director

  • Sean Baker, Tangerine
  • Cary Joji Fukunaga, Beasts of No Nation
  • Todd Haynes, Carol
  • Charlie Kaufman & Duke Johnson, Anomalisa
  • Tom McCarthy, Spotlight — WINNER
  • David Robert Mitchell, It Follows

Best Screenplay

  • Charlie Kaufman, Anomalisa
  • Donald Margulies, The End of the Tour
  • Phyllis Nagy, Carol
  • Tom McCarthy & Josh Singer, Spotlight — WINNER
  • S. Craig Zahler, Bone Tomahawk

Best First Feature

  • The Diary of a Teenage Girl — WINNER
  • James White
  • Manos Sucias
  • Mediterranea
  • Songs My Brothers Taught Me

Best First Screenplay

  • Jesse Andrews, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
  • Jonas Carpignano, Mediterranea
  • Emma Donoghue, Room — WINNER
  • Marielle Heller, The Diary of a Teenage Girl
  • John Magary, Russell Harbaugh, Myna Joseph, The Mend

Best Male Lead

  • Christopher Abbott, James White
  • Abraham Attah, Beasts of No Nation — WINNER
  • Ben Mendelsohn, Mississippi Grind
  • Jason Segel, The End of the Tour
  • Koudous Seihon, Mediterranea

Best Female Lead

  • Cate Blanchett, Carol
  • Brie Larson, Room — WINNER
  • Rooney Mara, Carol
  • Bel Powley, The Diary of A Teenage Girl
  • Kitana Kiki Rodriguez, Tangerine

Best Supporting Male

  • Kevin Corrigan, Results
  • Paul Dano, Love & Mercy
  • Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation — WINNER
  • Richard Jenkins, Bone Tomahawk
  • Michael Shannon, 99 Homes

Best Supporting Female

  • Robin Bartlett, H.
  • Marin Ireland, Glass Chin
  • Jennifer Jason Leigh, Anomalisa
  • Cynthia Nixon, James White
  • Mya Taylor, Tangerine — WINNER

Best Documentary

  • (T)error
  • Best of Enemies
  • Heart of a Dog
  • The Look of Silence — WINNER
  • Meru
  • The Russian Woodpecker

Best International Film

  • A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence
  • Embrace of the Serpent
  • Girlhood
  • Mustang
  • Son of Saul — WINNER

Best Cinematography

  • Beasts of No Nation
  • Carol — WINNER
  • It Follows
  • Meadlowland
  • Songs My Brothers Taught Me

Best Editing

  • Heaven Knows What
  • It Follows
  • Manos Sucias
  • Room
  • Spotlight — WINNER

John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)

  • Advantageous
  • Christmas, Again
  • Heaven Knows What
  • Krisha — WINNER
  • Out of My Hand

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)

  • Spotlight

Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award

  • Chloe Zhao
  • Felix Thompson — WINNER
  • Robert Machoian & Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck

Piaget Producers Award

  • Darren Dean
  • Mel Eslyn — WINNER
  • Rebecca Green and Laura D. Smith

The FFT Webmaster account displays articles from old versions of Film Festival Today. The original author byline might be missing! If you are the author of this article please send us an email. Some of our contributors that might be missing bylines are: Brad Balfour, Laura Blum, Sandy Mandelberger among others.

Other posts by
Posted in: Featured

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *