Hello World Communications
Hello World Communications - Tools & Services for the Imagination - HWC.TV

Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

Winners 2016 Cannes Film Festival

Written by: FFT Webmaster | May 24th, 2016

Festival De Cannes
Festival De Cannes

The full list of winners below:


  • Palme d’Or: “I, Daniel Blake” (Ken Loach, U.K.)
  • Grand Prix: “It’s Only the End of the World” (Xavier Dolan, Canada-France)
  • Director (tie): Olivier Assayas, “Personal Shopper” (France), and Cristian Mungiu, “Graduation” (Romania)
  • Actor: Shahab Hosseini, “The Salesman” (Iran)
  • Actress: Jaclyn Jose, “Ma ‘Rosa” (Philippines)
  • Jury Prize: Andrea Arnold, “American Honey” (U.K.-U.S.)
  • Screenplay: Asghar Farhadi, “The Salesman” (Iran)


  • Palme d’Honneur: Jean-Pierre Léaud
  • Camera d’Or: “Divines” (Houda Benyamina, France-Qatar)
  • Short Films Palme d’Or: “Timecode” (Juanjo Jimenez, Spain)
  • Special Mention – Short Films Palme d’Or: “The Girl Who Danced With the Devil” (Joao Paulo Miranda Maria, Brazil)
  • Ecumenical Jury Prize: “It’s Only the End of the World” (Xavier Dolan, Canada-France)


  • Un Certain Regard Prize: “The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki” (Juho Kuosmanen, Finland)
  • Jury prize: “Harmonium” (Koji Fukada, Japan)
  • Director: Matt Ross, “Captain Fantastic” (United States)
  • Screenplay: Delphine and Muriel Coulin, “The Stopover” (France)
  • Special Jury Prize: Michael Dudok de Wit, “The Red Turtle” (France-Japan)


  • Art Cinema Award: “Wolf and Sheep” (Shahrbanoo Sadat)
  • Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “The Together Project” (Solveig Anspach)
  • Europa Cinemas Label: “Mercernary” (Sacha Wolff)


  • Grand Prize: “Mimosas” (Oliver Saxe)
  • Visionary Prize: “Album” (Mehmet Can Mertoğlu)
  • Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “Diamond Island” (Day Chou)


  • Competition: “Toni Erdmann” (Maren Ade, Germany-Austria)
  • Un Certain Regard: “Dogs” (Bogdan Mirică, Romania-France)
  • Critics’ Week: “Raw” (Julia Ducournau, France-Belgium)

The FFT Webmaster use displays whenever an article has multiple authors. It also pops up on articles from old versions of Film Festival Today. The original author byline might be missing! In that case, if you are the author of such an article and see this bio instead of your own, please send us an email. Some of our contributors that might be missing bylines are: Brad Balfour, Laura Blum, and Sandy Mandelberger, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *