Hello World Communications
Hello World Communications - Tools & Services for the Imagination - HWC.TV

Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor


Written by: Christopher Llewellyn Reed | February 1st, 2018

  • Rock Steady Row Wins Best Narrative Feature and Audience Award
  • Mr. Fish: Cartooning from the Deep End Wins Best Documentary Feature
  • Yassmina Karajah To Receive The Inaugural Russo Brothers Fellowship
  • Railment Wins CreativeFuture Innovation Award
  • Actress Rhaechyl Walker Wins Inaugural Acting Award
  • Director Wendy McColm Wins George Starks Spirit Of Slamdance Award

Selections from AfterBruce PR & Marketing‘s official press release:

(PARK CITY, UT – January 25, 2018) – The 24th Slamdance Film Festival, presented by DGA,  announced the feature and short film recipients of this year’s Sparky Awards in the Audience, Jury, and Sponsored Categories. The festival also announced the recipients of three new awards: The Russo Brothers Fellowship, the CreativeFuture Innovation Award, and a curated Acting Award. The award winners were announced this evening at the festival’s annual Awards Ceremony at the Treasure Mountain Inn in Park City, UT.

The Awards Ceremony celebrates a week of emerging talent and the continued success of Slamdance Alumni, which includes: Jana Winternitz (@urFRENZ, 2010) and Dana Nachman (BatKid Begins, 2015). Pick Of The Litter, directed by Don Hardy and Nachman, made its world premiere at the fest and was acquired by Sundance Selects. The film was sold within 24 hours of its Opening Night screening, making it the first documentary feature to sell in Park City this year.

“We congratulate the winners and everyone at Slamdance who represented the unfiltered voice of independent artists. Thousands came to appreciate our diverse international program, including our neighbors Sundance. As the major acquisition of Pick of the Litter demonstrates, we can expect millions more to follow as our filmmakers and their work continue to attract global recognition out of our showcase.”

All the Slamdance 2018 winners

A full list of winners is below:

Jury Awards | Narrative Features

  • Narrative Feature Grand Jury Prize – Rock Steady Row (Dir.: Trevor Stevens)
  • Honorable Mentions: Fake Tattoos (Dir.: Pascal Plante) and Lovers (Dir.: Niels Holstein Kaa)
Pablo Bryant

Jury Awards | Documentary Features, Documentary Shorts

Jury Awards – Narrative Shorts

  • Narrative Shorts Grand Jury Prize: Rupture (Dir.: Yassmina Karajah)

Jury Awards – Experimental Shorts/ Animated Shorts

Animated Shorts Grand Jury Prize: Interstitial (Dir.: Shunsaku Hayashi)

Slamdance Acting Award:

Wendy McColm

Spirit of Slamdance Award Winner:

CreativeFuture Innovation Award:

The Russo Brothers Fellowship Award Winner:

  • Rupture (Dir.: Yassmina Karajah) 
Rupert Russell

Audience Awards:

  • Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature:  Rock Steady Row (Dir.: Trevor Stevens)
  • Audience Award for Documentary Feature: Freedom for the Wolf (Dir.: Rupert Russell)
    • Runner up: MexMan (Dir.: Josh Polon)
  • Audience Award for Beyond Feature: My Name Is Myeisha (Dir.: Gus Krieger)

Christopher Llewellyn Reed is a film critic, filmmaker, and educator, as well as Film Festival Today's Editor. A member of both the Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) and the Washington DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA), and a Rotten Tomatoes-approved film critic, Chris is, in addition, lead film critic at Hammer to Nail and the author of Film Editing: Theory and Practice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *