Hello World Communications
Hello World Communications - Tools & Services for the Imagination - HWC.TV

Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

FLIFF Opening Night: Stars Under The Stars

Written by: FFT Webmaster | October 24th, 2009

Fort Lauderdale International Film Festival 2009

The 24th edition of the Fort Lauderdale International Film Festival kicked off this evening with the premiere of TiMER, a sci-fi romantic comedy set in the near future. The film’s director Jac Schaeffer and lead actress Michelle Borth were both present for the gala screening.

Prior to the film screening, awards were given to veteran actor Kevin McCarthy (FLIFF Lifetime Achievement Award), Mario Tosi (FLIFF Lifetime Achievement Cinematographer) and Michelle Monaghan, star of Trucker (FLIFF Star on The Horizon Award).

Kevin McCarthy on the Invasion of the Body Snatchers

Directors and actors from the Festival’s first weekend were also out in force, including director Scott Sanders and star Michael Jai White (Black Dynamite), Paul Osborne (Official Rejection), Camille Brown (Thank You For Washing), Laurie Handlers (Tantric Tourists), James Mottern (Trucker), Darko Lungulov (Here & There), Allan Richards (Lessons From South Africa), Adam Smalley, Anna Karin, & Will Bledsoe (I Do), Jake Goldberger (Don McKay), David Louis Williams (Beyond The Pole), Isaack & Eva James (Hungry Years).

The Opening Night Film was screened at the Miniaci Performing Arts Center, with the after-party held at the Signature Grand. A great kick off to two weeks of cinematic pleasures……


The FFT Webmaster use displays whenever an article has multiple authors. It also pops up on articles from old versions of Film Festival Today. The original author byline might be missing! In that case, if you are the author of such an article and see this bio instead of your own, please send us an email. Some of our contributors that might be missing bylines are: Brad Balfour, Laura Blum, and Sandy Mandelberger, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *