Hello World Communications
Hello World Communications - Tools & Services for the Imagination - HWC.TV

Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

Nantucket Festival Honors

Written by: FFT Webmaster | June 26th, 2012

Jim Carrey At Nantucket Film Festival

The 17th annual Nantucket Film Festival (NFF) came to a close this past weekend. The event which highlights the art of screenwriting awarded its Showtime Tony Cox prize to JEAN OF THE JONSES by   Stella Meghie. The award for best screenwriting in a feature film was presented to Sarah Koskoff for HELLO I MUST BE GOING. The Award for best screenwriting in a short film went to Nash Edgerton and David Michod for BEAR. Other juried awards included best storytelling in a documentary which went to Alison Klayman for her film AI WEI WEI: NEVER SORRY. Mike Birbiglia garnered the best writer/director award for his autobiographical film SLEEPWALK WITH ME. The Festival also awarded the sixth annual Adrienne Shelley Excellence in Filmmaking Award, which bestows a cash prize to a female filmmaker in honor of the late director. The award was presented to Olivia Silver, for her film ARCADIA.

This year’s festival hosted the returning All Star Comedy Roundtable presented by Ben Stiller and was filmed by EPIX network to air in August.  Host Bill Hader interviewed Chris Rock, Jim Carrey, and Ben Stiller. NBC’s News Anchor Brian Williams hosted the Screenwriters Tribute Awards, where writer/director Nancy Meyers accepted the Screenwriting Tribute, which was given to her by her longtime friend and collaborator Diane Keaton.  The Compass Rose Acting Award was presented to Frank Langella, whose newest film ROBOT AND FRANK was shown at the Festival. Special guests who attended NFF 2012 included Diane Keaton, Mike Birbiglia, Nancy Meyers, Ben Stiller, Jerry Stiller, Anne Meara, Frank Langella, Chris Rock, Jim Carrey, Bill Hader, Brian Williams, Chris Matthews, Ethel Kennedy, Rory Kennedy, Douglas Kennedy, Kerry Kennedy, Tom Bodett, Tim Wakefield, Jason Varitey, Jim Taylor, Richard Corliss, Ty Burr, Joshua Rothkopf, Stephen Root, Steve Zahn, Cara Seymour, Tom Cavanaugh, Festival co-founders Jill & Johnathan Burkhart and many more.


The FFT Webmaster use displays whenever an article has multiple authors. It also pops up on articles from old versions of Film Festival Today. The original author byline might be missing! In that case, if you are the author of such an article and see this bio instead of your own, please send us an email. Some of our contributors that might be missing bylines are: Brad Balfour, Laura Blum, and Sandy Mandelberger, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *