Hello World Communications
Hello World Communications - Tools & Services for the Imagination - HWC.TV

Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

21ST Annual Dusty Film and animation Festival and Awards

Written by: FFT Webmaster | March 11th, 2010

School of Visual Arts

School of Visual Arts PROUDLY Presents the 21ST Annual Dusty Film and animation Festival and Awards

Film and Animation Festival: May 2 – 7, 2010

Awards Ceremony and Gala: Thursday, May 6, 2010

The 21st annual Dusty Film and Animation Festival and Awards will highlight over 100 films by students graduating from the BFA Film, Video and Animation Department at the School of Visual Arts (SVA). The program includes screenings of short films, videos and animations; and an awards ceremony and gala with notable presenters from the film industry. This year’s Screenwriters Night is a proud collaboration with The Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theatre in which SVA graduating screenwriters will have selected scenes performed live by alumni from The Neighborhood Playhouse. All festival events take place at the SVA Theatre (333 West 23rd Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues). Many events are FREE and open to the general public. More event info. available at

“We are thrilled to be marking 2010 and the 21st year of the Dustys—now recognized as one of the premiere student film festivals in the country—as we celebrate the many outstanding achievements of our emerging filmmakers and animators. It is always a delight to be showcasing and sharing their work with members of the entertainment industry, seeing the ‘magic’ made by the next generation of film and animation talent,” said Reeves Lehmann, chair of the BFA Film, Video and Animation Department at SVA.

Over its two-decade history, the DUSTYS has introduced many graduates of the BFA Film, Video and Animation Department who have gone on to earn international recognition on the film scene. The recently announced Academy Award nominees include SVA alumnus Michael Giacchino (BFA 1990 Film and Video), with a nomination in the category of Music (Original Score) for his work on the Pixar animated film Up. SVA alumni have also been represented at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival, including Kevin Asch (BFA 1998 Film and Video), with Holy Rollers. In addition, Jake Armstrong (BFA 2009 Animation) recently won the Best Undergraduate Award at the Ottawa International Animation Festival for his short, The Terrible Thing of Alpha-9.

Each year, DUSTY film achievement awards are presented in the following categories: documentary, screenwriting, cinematography, sound, editing, directing and outstanding film.  Animation achievement awards are presented for traditional, stop-motion, and outstanding design.

Past DUSTYS presenters have included SVA alumni, industry notables and award-winners such as Danny Aiello, Ellen Burstyn, Sean Combs, Wes Craven, Griffin Dunne, Harvey Keitel, Kevin Kline, David Koepp, Mira Nair, Bill Plympton, John Patrick Shanley, Bryan Singer, and Treat Williams.

2010 Festival Schedule

Sunday, May 2 – Wednesday, May 5: Screenings*
SVA Theatre
333 West 23rd Street – Time TBA

Monday, May 3: Screenwriters Night
SVA Theatre, 6:30pm

Tuesday, May 4:  Animation Screenings*
SVA Theatre – Time TBA

Thursday, May 6: Awards Ceremony and Gala
Awards Ceremony: SVA Theatre 6:30PM 

Gala: 9 11pm – Location TBA

Friday, May 7: Winner’s Circle*
SVA Theatre, 6 – 10pm

RSVP is required for Screenwriters Night, Awards Ceremony and Gala. For public inquiries regarding tickets, please contact 212.592.2124.  Events marked with an asterisk * above are free and open to the public. Updated event information will be available on the SVA/DUSTY website, by visiting:

Screenwriters Night, Monday, May 3, 2010, is presented in collaboration with The Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theatre and the Real Theater Company in association with Back Stage and Final Draft. Eleven five-minute scenes by SVA’s screenwriting thesis students are set to be performed live on stage, featuring alumni from The Neighborhood Playhouse, the internationally-regarded acting conservatory. Screenwriters Night will be directed by award-winning filmmaker John Gallagher, a faculty member at both SVA and The Neighborhood Playhouse, and produced by film producer and SVA faculty member Annie Flocco. 

The 2010 Dusty Film and Animation Festival and Awards are sponsored by Eastman Kodak, National Board of Review, New York Women In Film and Television, CAVA – SVA Computer Store, Act Zero Films, AJA Video Systems, Animation Magazine, Arri/CSC, Avid, Back Stage, Foto Care, Future Media Concepts, Gotham Sound, Keslow Television, Nice Shoes, Panavision and SCS Agency, Inc.

The Dusty Film and Animation Festival and Awards began in 1990 when the BFA Film, Video and Animation Department sought to bring its year-end screenings of student films to a wider audience. With sponsorship, a venue, and the support from the film industry, the event came to life. To pay tribute to School of Visual Arts founder Silas H. Rhodes, the event was named “Dusty” — after the nickname Mr. Rhodes had as a soldier in World War II.

School of Visual Arts is widely regarded as one of the finest art schools in the United States for its innovative curriculum, unparalleled faculty of more than 1000 creative professionals and its participation in the larger arts community of New York City. SVA alumni have received accolades from such renowned institutions and organizations such as the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; Sundance Film Festival; International Animated Film Festival in Annecy, France; American Film Institute; Women in Film; National Board of Review and many others. Find more information at

School of Visual Arts (SVA) in New York City is an established leader and innovator in the education of artists. From its inception in 1947, the faculty has been comprised of professionals working in the arts and art-related fields. SVA provides an environment that nurtures creativity, inventiveness and experimentation, enabling students to develop a strong sense of identity and a clear direction of purpose. 


The FFT Webmaster use displays whenever an article has multiple authors. It also pops up on articles from old versions of Film Festival Today. The original author byline might be missing! In that case, if you are the author of such an article and see this bio instead of your own, please send us an email. Some of our contributors that might be missing bylines are: Brad Balfour, Laura Blum, and Sandy Mandelberger, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *