Hello World Communications
Hello World Communications - Tools & Services for the Imagination - HWC.TV

Film Festival Today

Founded by Jeremy Taylor

LA Shorts Fest 2010 Announces Winners

Written by: FFT Webmaster | August 2nd, 2010

LA Shorts Fest 2010 

6 winners become eligible for an Oscar nomination

The 2010 LA Shorts Fest ended July 30, 2010 with its awards ceremony at Capitol City Hollywood, 1615 N.Cahuenga Boulevard, Hollywood, CA 90028.

Now in its 14th year, the screenings were held at Laemmle’s Sunset 5 Theatre, 8000 Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90048, from July 22 to July 29, 2010.

The jury was composed of:

  • Paula Wagner, producer (THE LAST SAMURAI, WAR OF THE WORLDS), and founder of Chestnut Ridge Productions,
  • Andy Fickman, director (YOU AGAIN, GAME PLAN),
  • Thomas Jane, actor (Hung),
  • Carrie Preston, actress (True Blood, MY BEST FRIEND’S WEDDING),
  • Mariana Klaveno, actress (True Blood),
  • Matt Lanter, actor (90210),
  • Tom Arnold, actor (TRUE LIES, SOUL PLANE),
  • Mimi Steinbauer, president, Hyde Park International,
  • Brian O’Shea, president, Affinity International,
  • Cort Lane, VP of Animation, Marvel,
  • David Ortiz, Executive, One Race Productions.

LA Shorts Fest honors those individuals who have achieved excellence in short films. As the largest short film festival in the world with more than 260 film screenings and 9 days of educational panels, interactive and entertaining events, the festival has become the industry standard for showcasing and awarding undiscovered talent.

The LA Shorts Fest ’10 award winners in the Best Creative Commercial, Best Documentary and Special Recognition Awards are:

  • Best Creative Commercial: WAY OF MONEY, director Tilman Baum
  • Best Documentary: KILLING IN THE NAME, director Jed Rothstein
  • Special Recognition Awards: THE GIFT, director Carl Erik Rinsch
  • The following LA Shorts Fest ’10 award winners are automatically eligible to be submitted to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Academy Award consideration.
  • Best Experimental: STANLEY PICLE, director Vicky Mather
  • Best Animation: ZERO, director Christopher Kezelos
  • Best Comedy: THE MAN WHO MARRIED HIMSELF, director Garrick Hamm
  • Best Drama: PARAPHERNALIA, director John Williams
  • Best Foreign Film: BETWEEN HEAVEN AND EARTH, director York-Fabian Raabe
  • Best of the Fest: THE ACTIVIST, director Philip Montgomery

In the past, 33 films have received Oscar nominations with 11 winning the coveted Oscar statue.

La Maison en Petits Cubes “The House of Small Cubes”- Director Kunio Kato won LA Shorts Fest BEST ANIMATED SHORT FILM AWARD in ’08, and 7 months later received the Oscar for Best Animated Short Film at the 2009 Academy Awards.

“Spielzeugland (Toyland)” screen at LA Shorts Fest in ’08 and went on the win the Oscar for Best Live Action Short. “This Way Up”, another alum of LA Shorts Fest ’08 received an Oscar nominee in the animation category.


The FFT Webmaster account displays articles from old versions of Film Festival Today. The original author byline might be missing! If you are the author of this article please send us an email. Some of our contributors that might be missing bylines are: Brad Balfour, Laura Blum, Sandy Mandelberger among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.